DC Council Chair Kwame Brown Charged With Bank Fraud, Later Resigns.

It just seems like DC Politicians can never get ahead. Council Chairman Kwame Brown has been charged with one count of bank fraud.

 WJLA Reports:

In documents filed in D.C. Superior Court on Wednesday, Brown is accused of defrauding Industrial Bank between 2005 and 2007 with the intention of obtaining money, assets and other property under false pretenses.

On Wednesday afternoon, Brown left City Hall without commenting on the charge or any possible plans to step down.

According to court documents, the fraud was part of a plan to obtain a home equity loan and a loan to buy a boat under false pretenses by grossly overstating his income.

D.C. Councilwoman Mary Cheh is expected to take over Brown’s seat.

Stealing money to buy a boat? Really?

image

Kwame later issued this resignation letter:

June 6, 2012

Dear Madame Secretary:

I hereby resign my position as Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia effective immediately. I have made some very serious mistakes in judgment for which I will take full responsibility.

Because of the great respect that I have for the institution that is the Council of the District of Columbia, I have chosen the only honorable course in submitting my resignation at this time. I simply will not hold this body, and its important work hostage to the resolution of my personal indiscretions.

I have behaved in ways that I should not have. I was wrong, and I will face the consequences of that conduct. I have apologized to the residents of our great city, and I also offer my unconditional apology to the members of the Council for all of the negative attention that my conduct has brought about.

Sincerely,

Kwame R. Brown

Why do politicians wait until they get caught to decide they’re going to resign?

I’m sure he’s not the only one in DC that’s corrupt.  *waits to hear dirt about Mayor Gray*

Leave a Reply

